Call opens for 2017 Women In STEM awards at UNM


Women faculty in UNM’s STEM fields can now apply for a variety of grants as part of the 2017 Women In STEM awards


The awards are supported by an anonymous gift made to UNM to support research by, and professorships for, women faculty in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics. Income from investment from this gift will be used to help UNM women tenure-track and tenured assistant and associate STEM professors to establish new lines of research and to develop research collaborations. Awards range from $3,000 to $15,000.


“Small awards can make a big difference when faculty have new ideas or want to start a new collaboration. We look forward to helping another group of outstanding women STEM faculty make research progress,” said Julia Fulghum, director of Advance at UNM, a National Science Foundation-funded project that aims to boost the number of women and minorities in STEM fields at the university.


Eligible applicants include tenure-track and tenured women faculty members at UNM who hold the rank of assistant or associate professor and who are pursuing research in areas supported by the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health (non-clinical) or the Department Of Energy.


Three types of grants will be awarded: 1) travel awards to foster collaborations, 2) seed awards to stimulate research projects that will lead to additional external funding, and 3) workshop awards, which are designed to generate innovative research ideas and collaborations.


Proposals are due Feb. 15. Decisions will announced by March 15.


Earlier this year, seven women were awarded the 2016 Women In STEM awards. They were: Christina Salas of the Mechanical Engineering and Orthopaedics Departments; Katie Witkiewitz of the Department of Psychology; Lindsay Worthington of Earth and Planetary Sciences; Mousumi Roy of Physics and Astronomy; Jingjing Wang in UNM’s Department of Economics; Jessica Feezell in the Political Science Department and  Siobhan Mattison of the Anthropology Department. Read more about the winners here.

Find us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.

See the call below: